Finally using some scraps

Some time ago I started reading about scrap management systems, and started periodically cutting up my scraps into what were supposed to be easy sizes to use in scrap quilts, with the intention of using them in leader and ender projects and ending up with some amazing scrap quilts.  That part never happened, but yesterday I bought Modern Machine Quilting: Straight Lines, Spirals, Serpentines, and More! by Catherine Redford, and lo and behold, she suggested practicing various techniques by making placemats.  Now that is something I can do!  So I pulled out my 2 1/2″ squares, which were the scraps I had the most of, pulled out colors I thought looked good together, added some scraps from fabrics that I really want to get rid of — you know, those fabrics that snuck into your stash without your knowledge, or that you inherited from someone else trying to get rid of her orphaned or ugly fabrics.  Some of those need to be smaller to stop being ugly, I think.

So the fabrics I ended up using included reds, golds, browns and black, most of which came from a fall-themed quilt that I made long ago.  Here is some of what I put together with my scraps.

For background fabrics and other accents, I pulled out these fabrics.  I had no idea I had so many yellows and golds!

The greenish brown fabric is actually an interesting one.  It’s not a color I would normally be drawn to.  I probably bought it when I was doing some landscape quilts and wanted more greens and browns of various shades. There is a good chance it would end up languishing in my stash until I did another one..but I think it will work quite well with these fabrics.  Hopefully tomorrow I can decide on my ground fabrics and have some placemats ready for quilting!

3 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I’m looking forward to seeing the quilting on your placemats. I hope you enjoyed the video!

    Like

  2. nice blog – just put a link up on my new links page https://julzcrafts.wordpress.com/i-like/
    let me know if you are happy with that (blogging101 course)

    Like

Share your thoughts!

