Placemats in progress

The placemats I want to use for free motion practice are almost done.  I have the tops done for 5 and a nine patch and some fabric strips ready to make a sixth, then it is just cutting the backing and sandwiching and basting everything, and I am good to go.  They are rather gigantic!  I looked up measurements online and these are supposedly within normal range…but they would take up my entire table!  Now I can begin to think about how I want to quilt them.  I want to use a combination of walking foot techniques with free motion fillers.  Hopefully the combination of a more traditional feel to the patchwork with a more modern approach to the quilting will work out.

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. This such a smart idea, every one different but the same fabric theme.

    Like

Share your thoughts!

