And then there were none

IMG_4386

And that’s five!  I am especially happy with the quilting on this one.  I used both yellow and green threads, with some green lines in each of the yellow areas, and some yellow lines in the green areas, then green for the free motion portions of design on the yellow.  Of all of them, this is my favorite, because of the combination of serpentine and straight line quilting with free motion within the feature designs.

IMG_4385Binding is still a challenge! This time, I had trouble on the some of the corners.  I still have a few more projects to bind, so we’ll see if I what needs to be changed for the next round.

I used this presser foot to help me stay in the ditch. It is a very helpful foot when you use actual piping, because the piping helps hold the foot in the ditch.  With this ‘fake’ piping, it was a bit less helpful.  I couldn’t really see if I was actually stitching in the ditch and there was no piping to hold against. In theory I should have been given that the guide was in the ditch, but in practice…not always.  I also have these other two presser feet that came with my sewing machine.  Maybe one of these would be more helpful?IMG_4392  One has an more open toe at least.

Finishing up one of these placemats was my January goal for the Lovely Year of Finishes and the full set was on my Finish Along 2015 Q1 goals list, so this is a good start to the year.  The scraps I used for this quilt were mainly from a quilt I made many years ago for my mother-in-law.  I haven’t been able to find a picture of that quilt, but here is a picture of the completed top, along with pictures of the full set of placemats.

Linking this up to Binding Blitz at JulieKQuilts.  Also linking it up to my 1st Quarter Finish Along goals.

12 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Placemats seem a great way to practice your quilting and still end up with something useful. I cheat when I make placemats and do an envelope finish on them – no binding. I’ve taken Jacquie Gering’s Craftsy class on walking foot quilting and found it helpful. I’m trying to decide if I want to purchase the DVD you used. The quilt you made for your MIL looks lovely.

    Like

    • No binding is very tempting! I have two more projects to bind, and I am planning to try a few different techniques. I have may have to add that to my list of things to try. I really liked Caatherine Redford’s DVD, but if you have done a walking foot quilting class, it may not have as much to add for you.

      Like

  2. Great use of scraps ! Are you keeping the placemats or are they joining the quilt with your MIL? A perfect size to practice FMQ and binding! Thanks for linking up this month to #scraptastictuesday

    Like

  3. What a wonderful plan to use the same fabrics but change the layout on each placemat. And a great place to work on quilting. Yours looks lovely. I haven’t tried the mock piping yet although I intend to soon. I hadn’t considered how lack of piping will change the handling. Thanks for the tips.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. They make a really interesting set and I wouldn’t have picked them being descended from the quilt with the different colour arrangements. Lovely finish for January.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Your quilting rocks!! Love the binding technique!!

    Like

  6. Awesome shapes in the quilting

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts!

