Work Not in Progress Wednesday?

I write this surrounded by fabric, having taken out every piece of fabric in my stash.  I did not intend to redecorate my home with quilting fabric.  No, I started with an enthusiastic desire to get working on my Sweet Sixteen gift quilt, which I envision as having a white or white on white background to set off the red scrap blocks and give me lots of room for quilting.   However, when I pulled out my white fabrics, I realized I was in trouble.  This.  This is the entire collection of white or mainly white fabrics in my stash.

whites

That’s it.  That’s all of it.  The black and grey on white fabrics aren’t really what I was looking for since I really want to feature the quilting in this one.  And even if I did want to use the fabric on hand, no one fabric there is more than 1 1/2 yards, and that larger white piece is actually all leftover large scrap pieces as opposed to yardage.  I do not fare that much better for the grey I want for the back of the fabric.

That discovery is what started me pulling out all my stash and desperately looking for other fabric that  have enough of to use as the background of the front or back of the quilt. There are several fabrics I have in what are probably sufficient amounts.  I can only say: What was I thinking?! What ever possessed me to buy large cuts of those fabrics!  A green and metallic fabric that calls out to be used in a Christmas quilt.  A mottled greenish fabric that will not play nicely with any other fabric in my stash and looks appalling next to my Sweet Sixteen blocks.  And this other mottled fabric whose color defies description and that would be best used in small quantities.  Very, very small quantities.

As difficult as it was to imagine those fabrics in one of my quilts, they were not the worst, not by a long shot.  As I was digging through my fabrics I came across some fabrics so hideous that I think they deserve their own post sometime soon.  I am sure I saw the other fabrics trying to move away from them.

I really wish I had envisioned this quilt before I made my recent trip to the US and had picked up enough yardage I will need.  Tomorrow I will go scour the market in the hope I can find a a suitable cotton fabric at least for the top if not the backing.  If not, I may have to order fabric, which may significantly delay this quilt 😦

Nightmare binding in progressI did get some actual sewing done today despite the disorder of my fabrics.  I had been thinking of a scrappy blue binding for my Nightmare quilt, but after pulling out all my blue scraps, I decided it would distract from the main design.  The main blue of the quilt would have worked, but I did not have enough fabric left.  While looking through my stash, though, I found an unexpected piece of black fabric, enough for the binding.  So now the binding is sewn on the back of the quilt, and I will finish machine sewing it on in time for TGIF Friday.

Linking this up to Work in Progress Wednesday and Let’s Bee Social.

.

13 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I know the feeling when you think you have enough but turns out you actually don’t. I hope you find the fabric you’re looking for. Meanwhile, my brother here was telling me I could give you some inspiration. Check out this page:
    https://www.facebook.com/DhakaiSareedotcom
    and the pictures. Who knows right?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So very frustrating! Hope you find something good at the market.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have not made a scrappy quilt from my stash which is a new stash compared to many quilters. But it is comical, sorry to laugh. Everyone tells me they end up “buying” for their scrap quilt.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ah yes, the sounds of “what was I thinking” as the heel of a hand slaps the side of a head.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I can certainly sympathise with the “not enough fabric” dilemma – somehow I always seem to end up with completely random fat quarters that don’t “go” with anything else I own, and I *never* seem to have enough solids and/or blenders to do anything sensible with! Good luck with your fabric hunt. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. My mother didn’t quilt, but she sewed all of our clothes when I was growing up. Your scraps remind me of a large chest of drawers we had in the basement filled with left-over pieces of fabric and new fabric waiting to be made into something. Sometimes, I think the fabric was bought on sale, and then it really did turn out to be plain ugly. Good luck finding the fabric you need 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I often find myself in the same position! None of what I need and lots of what I don’t! Thank you for your comment on my blog, I will try to have a Fugly party soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Thank you for visiting my blog and leaving a comment. When reviewing the email, I tapped “Delete” instead of “Publish”. Sorry about that! Live your circles quilt!

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts!

