Engrish As She is Spoken

A friend of mine found the book English as She is Spoke years ago. It was a guide to English written by an Portuguese gentleman who apparently spoke no English himself but used a French-Portuguese dictionary and an French-English phrsae book to make his own guide to English.  As you can imagine, it is full of rather hilarious literal translations and awkward phrases.  In honor of that book and all the funny English signs I come across in my travels, I have decided to start a periodic feature here sharing Engrish as she is spoken around the world.  If you have any of your own examples, I would love to hear about them and share them here! Today’s tidbit, a sign from my building.  Disorder EctifiedDue to disorder in the mind of which this post is temporary suspended.  I will be back after it is Ectified.

4 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Great idea for a regular feature!

    Like

  2. What a unique and fun idea.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have heard about this book! It was referred to in a rather amusing section of “The Book Of Heroic Failures” (or it could have been the sequel book).

    I seem to remember the phrase “dress you the hairs”, and ‘useful’ collection of phrases for hiring a horse….

    Very funny sign – I love this kind of humour.

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts!

