Sweet Sixteen Finished!

Sweet 16 finished

All bound and ready for gifting.  Except for possibly a label.  This was a very fun quilt to work on.  I would have loved to match the binding to the quilt top as in this tutorial, but what would have looked wonderful on one side would have looked terrible on the other so I gave up on that idea.  In fact the only colors that I felt would work on both sides of the quilt were grey and black.  I went with grey because I have a lot of the fabric and relatively little of my black fabrics, and I love how it has turned out.  I decided to finish the binding by hand because it is a gift and though my machine binding is improving, finishing it by hand still looks considerably better.  Next time I might include a few more common fabrics on the front and back to give me more binding choices that would work on both sides.

Quilt back over couchFrom the beginning I wanted this quilt to be a two-sided quilt.  The floating ‘ghost’ squares quilted on the front are based on the motif on the back, and for the most part, I think the two sides of the quilt work well together.  For some reason, I have been having a very hard time getting a good picture of the back though.  I envision the blue strip that is at the bottom of the picture on the left being on the top, but that left it out of the picture.

finished sweet 16 doubleI have written quite a bit about this quilt and its development here, here, here and here, for those of you who want the blow-by-blow account. It is a lot of quilting but I tried to keep the motifs on the edges a bit larger, which I think helped maintain a decently soft feel despite having been quilted to death.

This is my first Q2 Finish Along Goal (#1) and my April Lovely Year of Finishes Goal.  I’m linking the finish to Free Motion Mavericks and Can I Have a Whoop Whoop (the source of my Sweet 16 inspiration).  A bit late, but hopefully not too late to share.  Also linking up to Thank Goodness It’s Finished Friday.

This is also my one and only Binding Blitz finish for April.

28 Comments

Add yours →

  1. What a beautiful top and back! I love how it has two different moods, and the quilting is just marvelous. Congratulations on a beautiful finish!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a fabulous quilt! Love it is double-sided – tried that years ago but got completely flumoxed when it came to quilting. I ended up tieing it! Can’t believe I did that! I’m working hard on getting a decent binding done all by machine; it should be so simple but it never is. Thanks for sharing this quilt – I find it very helpful to see that combining free-flowing organic with geometric designs in a non-structured way works so well. I would have been to scared to try this.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love the idea of two color schemes in one quilt – so much more versatile. And you’ve used the quilting to make the quilt more interesting to see and feel. I’d love to run my fingers over it and feel the changes in the quilting patterns.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. What fabulous quilting! Is this done on a small machine or a long arm? You were quite successful incorporating the designs of the two sides of your quilt into the quilting design. Love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh my goodness – your Sweet Sixteen is amazing! Love the colors, the layout, and especially the quilting! It’s wonderful – thank you so much for sharing!! Whoop whoop!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. The quilting is beautiful! I’m in awe. (I’m still at the practice stage.)

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Global Toss-up April 6, 2015 — 8:11 pm

    Like all the others who made comments above, I am in awe! I just want to sit down in person with this quilt to absorb all its lovely dimensions and secrets! It has so much depth and interest – and is so inspiring. Thank you for sharing this with us!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Terrific two-sided design, and wonderful quilting! It is absolutely beautiful! The quilting adds a new dimension, and the binding is such a wonderful complement to the overall design. Congratulations on such great outcome.

    I bet your machine binding will be awesome! I have never done it by hand, as I learned only machine binding.

    Al

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Al. I hope the family that gets it will enjoy it and use it. I am feeling rather reluctant to send it off! lol. On the machine binding, I have trouble getting the stitching to line up on the back. Any tips?

      Like

      • I am certain they will love it, and use it, Lori! It *is* hard to part with something this beautiful – but it is also great to give away something we ourselves would love to keep.

        On machine binding: The secret is that we *are able* to see the stitching used to apply the binding on the back – we can see it on the front, where we will finish the binding. We simply line up the binding on the front to barely cover the stitches applied when doing the back. Easy, if you can take only about 6-inch steps, as you will see.

        Jenny Doan from Missouri Start Quilt Co. did a terrific tutorial in June of 2011 – I always recommend watching this one, as it is one of the best, from a wonderful lady:

        She confirmed during our Featherweight Retreat that this is the best and easiest way to do machine binding. When I did the Quilt in Purples I also used a small zig-zag, as Jenny mentions in the video.

        With Sandy’s help as I applied the binding, I followed Jenny’s procedure – and it worked wonderfully!

        As an aside, I also connect the strips for the binding on the bias, for less thickness. Love it! Spoiler alert: If you sew these on the wrong corner-to-corner, you will find out quickly – you are forewarned 🙂

        Enjoy! And please share your results; I would love to see how it works for *you*.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks, Al, I will watch the video and report back with my results 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Totally and utterly fabulous! The way you have used so many different quilting designs is amazing – and you have worked so quickly! An Easter finish too, to make it even more memorable.

    Binding by machine – you might like to try this way if you have a seam guide…
    http://lizzielenard-vintagesewing.blogspot.co.uk/search/label/Quilt%20Binding
    You can do it either way round (ie. starting on the front or the back) depending on the effect you want.

    Thank you for linking up to Free Motion Mavericks!

    Love, Muv

    Like

  10. Awesome quilt! The quilting is fabulous!! Love that it is reversible 🙂 Beautifully done!

    Like

  11. Gorgeous quilting! Love the swirls with the pebbles!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Wow! What a gorgeous two sided quilt! The design is striking and I am really drawn to the red and black side in particular, which is strange because I am usually a blue colour person. The quilting is simply incredible. Such a beautiful variety of well blended motifs. The recipient will be blown away by this beautiful gift!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. What a great modern design and spectacular quilting! You really pulled off the variation in sizes in a variable way throughout, not always easy to do. I sometimes get bored near the end and my designs get a little bigger! A great overall quilt!

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts!

