Work in Progress… Thursday?

So many diamonds

I’m a bit behind on my posting.  Yesterday was a rather eventful day, with some exciting news to share once it is confirmed. Among the more mundane things that gone done, though, was that my air conditioners got fixed, so I was able to get to my kitchen peninsula and do some cutting today for my Kaffee Fassett-inspired quilt.  Many diamonds were cut!

StripsI rarely do all of my cutting at the beginning of a project, but for this quilt, I felt it would help.  I cut two diamonds from most of my fabrics, 3 from a few and only 1 from some fabrics I only had a small amount of.  I also cut strips from each of the fabrics for borders.  I have a pile of reds and oranges I can draw from as well, once I start playing with combinations.

I love these fabrics, and in my enthusiasm may have cut more than I need for this quilt.  I am thinking I may make a sister quilt from all the extras.  I also have all these cute triangle scraps that might just make their way into that quilt or become a wonky triangle strip on the back.  Or become their own mini-quilt.  We shall see!

This quilt is inspired by Kaffe Fassett’s Bordered Diamonds, but I do not have his book, nor have I bought a pattern.  When I searched on the web, many people who had made them recommended buying a diamond ruler.  After a few mis-cuts, I decided to cut a 6 1/2″ strip and use my 6 1/2″ ruler that has a 60 degree angle line.   In case you ever want to do something similar, here’s a picture of how I cut the diamonds.  I lined up the 60 degree line with the bottom of the strip, and cut on both sides of the ruler.

Linking this up to Work in Progress Wednesday, Let’s Bee Social, and Needle and Thread Thursday.

12 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Glad you made some progress! I tell my mother about your quilts, and when she heard about your Rattlesnake one she was a bit worried. But now she’s happy.
    This quilt looks so pretty! Finish it in time, okay? Okay.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The fabrics are gorgeous and I’m sure will make a fantastic quilt. Congrats on getting the a/c fixed! In central Texas, I consider that a major accomplishment!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I can’t wait to see how this quilt turns out it, the colours are beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you for the hint on how to cut diamonds. I don’t think I’d ever have thought of that. I’d have just drafted triangles on paper and then painstakingly cut the diamonds with scissors. 🙂 I love the colors you are using!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. These fabrics look lovely together, I’m sure the quilt will be stunning. Hopefully it comes together smoothly!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oooo, I love where this is going. 🙂 You have such a wonderful collection of batiks, I’m quite envious! And congrats on getting the air-con sorted; that can’t have been fun in the tropics. 😮

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts!

