Words and the Serendipity of the Internet

Since picking up quilting again, I spend time every day (probably too much time!) browsing quilt-related blogs.  I enjoy many more posts and quilts than I comment on.    But when I do comment, I find myself repeating the same words and phrases.  Beautiful! Gorgeous! Striking!  Where is that vocabulary I supposedly developed at college?  Where is the brilliance and insight I am so sure I demonstrate regularly IRL.  Okay, maybe not.  But at least once in a while.  When I have coffee.  And there is a full moon.  Or something.

Luckily, the internet has come to my rescue.  Today I received an email from StumbleUpon introducing a site that may just have the answer to all my problems:  Synonym’s for the 96 most commonly used words in the English Language.  This is it.  From now on, instead of ‘beautiful’, I will choose from their list of synonyms:

pretty, lovely, handsome, attractive, gorgeous, dazzling, splendid, magnificent, comely, fair, ravishing, graceful, elegant, fine, exquisite, aesthetic, pleasing, shapely, delicate, stunning, glorious, heavenly, resplendent, radiant, glowing, blooming, sparkling

Instead of ‘amazing’, I will choose from

incredible, unbelievable, improbable, fabulous, wonderful, fantastic, astonishing, astounding, extraordinary

If by some reason I forget everything my mother has taught me and decide to comment on some minor flaw in the quilt, well then, instead of ‘bad’, I can choose:

evil, immoral, wicked, corrupt, sinful, depraved, rotten, contaminated, spoiled, tainted, harmful, injurious, unfavorable, defective, inferior, imperfect, substandard, faulty, improper, inappropriate, unsuitable, disagreeable, unpleasant, cross, nasty, unfriendly, irascible, horrible, atrocious, outrageous, scandalous, infamous, wrong, noxious, sinister, putrid, snide, deplorable, dismal, gross, heinous, nefarious, base, obnoxious, detestable, despicable, contemptible, foul, rank, ghastly, execrable

My next comment on your blog may just look something like this:

What a comely quilt!  Your use of color is truly improbable!  I hope one day I will have the courage to beget such a titanic quilt and achieve binding that is as mighty as yours.  My own bindings always turn out so sinister.

You can thank The Internet.

9 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Funny! I’m embarrassed to say I have the same word re-use problem. Thanks for sharing. Maybe this will effect some change in the comments!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Ah yes, as a blogger myself I love positive comments, but sometimes I’d like to know just why someone calls a quilt I’ve made “amazing.” Is it the colors, the design, the quilting, or are you just being nice? And your reworked comment reminds me of what Google’s translation function does to sentences.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. This was a very comely post – and I love your sparkling approach to commenting. The delicate wording about bindings is exciting!

    I am practicing. Thank you for the evil chuckle!

    Liked by 3 people

  4. thanks for starting my day with a laugh! I started out commenting only if I could add a specific reason for liking a quilt. Then I began to waffle: is it better to leave a footprint that you have been there than to say nothing? Like Snarkyquilter, I get warm fuzzies from a one word variation on “great,” but would like to know what feature prompted it.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I love this!! Oh wait…
    I so appreciate this astounding post!
    I was just thinking the same thing… I use the same words all the time when I write a comment. But I mean every word.
    I am a college graduate… I need to do the same!
    I am off to buy a thesaurus! Giggle…. laugh…. smile….
    😀 😀 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Too funny. I often think about the words that I’m using when I comment, and like you, I repeat certain words often. More often than I care to admit to for sure!

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts!

