ALYOF May Goal

There’s really not much to see in the header pic, but it is the beginning of my A Lovely Year of Finishes goal for May.

It is going to be a busy month (again), so I am choosing a fairly modest project.  In January, I started a thread sampler as part of The Inbox Jaunt’s mystery quilt along, but it got set aside.  The idea is to quilt a spool of thread in various types and weights of thread so that you have a comparison of how they look and can also record the tension that you used.

I am making a bit of a change though.  Lori also has a tutorial for an adorable owl motif, so rather than spools of thread, I think I will quilt owls.  I am not domestic enough to have a quilt full of spools of thread!

I have a metallic decorative thread by Ricky Tims that I am quite excited to use.  I will have to put it in the bobbin and quilt from the back of the quilt, so that will be a first for me.

My main question about this little project is what to do about the bobbin thread.  It usually makes life a lot easier to keep the top and bottom thread the same, or at least quite close, but I don’t have nearly enough bobbins to switch threads for every owl, and I would end up with a lot of bobbins that might not get used for quite a while.  I have some Superior Bottom Line thread.  I may use that for all of them.

10 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I like your idea of replacing the spool with an owl. I’d say if your machine will behave with different top and bobbin threads, use one. I bought more bobbins so I can change threads more often; however, at some point I start mismatching so I can empty bobbins again.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Love the idea of the metallic thread! However, I believe those tend to require quite loose tension, as they tend to break easily. As a result, bobbin tension might be critical. And quilting from the back of the quilt sounds intriguing – I must try it some time. Please share progress!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sounds like a great project, and useful too 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Another great project off to a good start. Love the owl! And metallic thread. Hmmm hmmm… be careful hard to work with, I would think. I am sure you already know that! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts!

