In Under the Wire: ALYOF May Goal

I chose an easy goal for May, knowing that I was going to be quite busy this month.  Despite that, I was surprised to see the Lovely Year of Finishes finish link up has been posted already!  Luckily I did not have many threads for my thread sampler, and the owls are fun and easy to quilt.  All that was left was adding a binding. I used a fun fabric I had scraps of, and did a single fold binding. Overall, not my best work, but a fun little project. As I get the different kinds of threads, I will fill in the open spaces.  For reference, the left column are all Superior threads of different weights or types, the next column is Aurifil, the third is DMC cotton thread, the fourth column is rayon, and the fifth is specialty threads — monofilament, silk, and Razzle-Dazzle by Ricky Tims.  I have identified the specific threads in the posts here and here, and talked a bit about my experience with each of the thread types.

thread sampler 2

Here’s my original ALYOF goals post, and a link to my Quarter 2 2015 Quilt Along post as well.  My thread sampler was #2 on my quilt along goals list, inspired by The Inbox Jaunt thread sampler that Lori Kennedy ran as a quilt along.  Also linking up to Binding Blitz, Confessions of a Fabric Addict, Free Motion Mavericks, and TGIFF.  That seems somewhat excessive!

5 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Thanks for visiting my blog! Love your owl quilting.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Owls…never would have thought about quilting owls. Great idea. Thanks for linking up with TGIFF.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Definitely more fun than spools of thread. I like the element of suspense too… is it finished, or will there be more owls…

    Thank you for linking up with Free Motion Mavericks!

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts!

