July Quilt Inspiration

What happened to Quilt Inspiration in May and June?!  I have been collecting pictures and links to inspiring quilts, but my Quilt Inspiration feature got lost in the craziness of life.  Unfortunately, those pictures are all on my home computer and I am currently on my Surface.  Luckily though, there are plenty of inspirational quilts around the internet.

For this month’s inspiration, I am sharing quilts made with quite simple blocks that capture my interest through their use of color or through their dramatic graphic design.  First up, Live A Colorful Life’s Fresno 2014 Temperature Quilt.

Fresno 2014

This one captured my interest as much because of the concept as because of the final quilt (though I love that too).   The quilter chose a range of fabrics representing the high and low temperatures for the day, and essentially recorded the year’s temperature in fabrics.  She also made one for St. Paul, which as you can imagine is quite a bit more blue!  I encourage you to read the entire post.

I also love the Mosaic Tile quilt created by Daisy at Ants to Sugar.

Mosaic Tiles

Once again, the blocks are simple but I love the graphic and I could see using it show off beautiful fabrics or use up scraps…or both.

The Canadian Abroad shared quilts from the 2011 Festival of Quilts, and one of the quilts she shared was this one:

Unfortunately she didn’t have the name of the quilt or quilter, but I just love the movement of color across the quilt and the wonky little windows.

Finally, there is Chiara Piccoli’s Stained Glass Quilt.

The blocks are a bit more complicated but what a wonderful way to showcase beautiful fabrics!  I love how the black makes the blues pop.  I think this one may be on my list of some-day quilts.

Hope you find this selection of quilts gives you some ideas of things you might make!

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. beautiful and even while each of these quilts is unique they feel as if they have a relationship to each other! maybe it’s the way you “curated” them. (smile)

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts!

