Work in Progress Wednesday

I’m glad I finally have something to post on Work in Progress Wednesday, though it is more what is up on the design wall than actual progress.  After I finished up my flying geese quilt over the weekend (which I will post pictures of later in the week), I had to start concentrating on the requirements of my new job and haven’t had much energy for actual quilting, but I have had enough to think about a small project I could do this month.

Some time ago, I came across the Free Motion Quilting Challenge organized by Quilt Shop Gal.  Each month she identifies a FMQ expert, and you are challenged to use techniques from one of their books/videos/tutorials to make a pillow.  This month’s expert is Angela Walters.  She is one of my favorite sources of inspiration for free motion quilting, and I have a set of scraps from my flying geese quilt that should be enough to come up with a pillow.  A can definitely see a pillow to go with the quilt on my couch.

Here’s what I have to work with.  There are few flying geese that dd not get incorporated into the quilt because they did not have enough contrast.

leftovers

I have a collection of scraps from the various fabrics in that were in the quilt.

Scraps

ExtrasAnd I also have quite a collection of bonus half square triangles.  Plus, I replenished my Doe fabrics when I was in the US, so I should have no shortage of fabrics.  The question is what design!  With a little help from the Doe fabrics I bought  I suspect that I have enough scraps to make 2-3 pillows (only some are in the pictures).

I’m linking this up to Let’s Bee Social.  Head on over to see what people are working on.

3 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Nice fabrics! I intended to join the FMQ Challenge but ended up swamped by life and other distractions (and there’s only so many cushions I need in my life), but I’m looking forward to seeing how yours comes out. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I like your low-contrast geese even if they weren’t strong enough to use for the quilt. Maybe they will be part of another pillow or quilt? I hope things go well with your new job. I think that adjustment takes a lot of mental energy. When that happens I don’t have anything left for creative energy. All the best to you!

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts!

