Goodbye 2015: Blogging

I have one more full day of 2015, and a few of the bloggers I follow have been linking up to the Best of 2015 Linky Party hosted by Cheryl at Meadow Mist Designs.  Cheryl asks for each blogger to link up their 5 best posts, defined any way they want to.  I had already planned to write something about my first year of blogging, so this seems like a perfect way to do that.

It was about 2 weeks ago now that I received notification from WordPress that I had just passed my one-year blogging anniversary.  I had picked up quilting again in order to finish my son’s college quilt, and I wanted to find a way to connect with other quilters since there are none where I live.  I may have been the only reader of my blog for that first month, but Blogging 101 at Blogging University helped me both to create a better blog and begin to connect with many more people.  Though my blogging suffered as I adjusted to a new job and other changes in the last part of the year, I’ve enjoyed the process and feel I have a made a few friends that I hope one day to meet in person.

In 2015, I made 139 posts, got 12,759 views, and was visited by viewers from 63 different countries.  I now have 117 followers, far more than I ever expected to have.

So, what are my 5 best posts?  Unsurprisingly, my most viewed posts were ones with finished quilts that I shared via linky parties.

  1.  My most viewed post was Finally A Finish Friday, featuring one of my more modern quilts, Which Way Do I go.Which Way Do I Go
  2. The post that generated the most comments was my Sweet Sixteen finish.  It was a fun one because I tried to make the quilt double-sided and because I played with graffiti quilting, something I have always enjoyed but had never tried myself.Sweet 16 finished
  3. Since I was doing so much traveling in 2015, my blog included quite a few travel posts.  Those don’t tend to show up in the statistics, but the most viewed was apparently one from my trip to Kyoto.
  4. One of my own favorite posts was Dear Sewing Machine.  Sometimes it really does seem to have a mind of its own.
  5. Last one.  I’m going to cheat a bit and share two posts that I like because they go a bit beyond the visual impressions of travel to the insights you can gain.  The first is from my trip to Nepal in January, which got me thinking about how communities integrate spiritual and material development, and the second, Maiko in Japan, is a glimpse into the world of Geisha and a reflection on the choices that women make.  I hope you enjoy them.

It’s unlikely I’ll be posting again before the new year is officially rung in.  I hope everyone has a wonderful close to 2015 and a great 2016 ahead.

18 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Hello, thank you for sharing. Found you thanks to the Meadow Mist Designs linky party. Will check back!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great posts and quilts! I absolutely love the quilting! Thanks for linking up!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I hope 2016 brings you a bit more time for quilting. Now that most of your WIPs are done (right?) you can start some new projects.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Loved both of those quilts first time around–fun to see them again.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Beautiful work! I love that Which Way Do I Go quilt! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Really enjoyed both the posts you linked to, Nepal and Maiko. Thank you for sharing, and Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I am so glad I met you in blogging university. Even if it was virtual! Happy First Year of Blogging! And Happy New Year!
    I remember many of these quilts!!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Wishing you many wonderful quilts and travels for 2016!

    Like

  9. I love how perfectly the quilting fits each of these quilts Lori. That was your first try at graffiti quilting? Cowabunga girl! I would say you have great things ahead of you, but I think you are already there.
    Thanks for stopping by BuzzinBumble and sharing your love for Totoro! (your comment came in as “no reply”, so I’m thanking you here.) Now to go read your conversation with your sewing machine.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Your graffiti quilting is stunning!!! I’ve gotta give it a try this year!!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Great quilts! I like that “Which Way Do I Go” quilt! Just gorgeous! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts!

