Rattlesnake Quilt Top Finished

I added my last outer border, so my Rattlesnake quilt top is officially finished.   Without my tall quilt holder, who has returned to the US for college, it is a bit difficult to get a picture.  It has become a giant!

Rattlesnake flimsy.png

Having gotten the top done, I have to come up with a plan for the quilt back.  What I would really like is a flannel or brushed cotton backing to make it a warm and cuddly quilt, but I have not been able to find anything suitable.  I may make one more round of the fabric shops, but so far it looks like I will have to work with what I have.

I am of two minds on my quilt backing.  I love pieced quilt backs that could stand as quilts in their own right.  I aimed for that with my Sweet 16 quilt back, with a different color scheme and layout from the front of the quilt.

Sweet 16 Back

Circles, Revisited also had a pieced backing that used blocks that didn’t make it into the front of the quilt, and while it may not be a full-fledged quilt, I think it still makes quite a distinctive quilt back that I enjoy looking at.

Circles Backing

But quilt backs are also a good way to get rid of fabric you no longer like or can’t anticipate using on the front of a quilt.  For Which Way Do I Go, I combined some fabrics I like with some I had given up hope of finding a use for.  Just wide strips of fabric in tones similar to those on the front of the quilt, sewn together randomly.

quilt back

What do you do for quilt backs?  Do you use a single fabric, or put together something distinctive that could stand alone?  Or do you use up old and under-loved fabrics?

7 Comments

Add yours →

  1. YES! I have made all kinds of backs. For ease, I prefer having plenty of a single fabric, so at worst it’s a matter of a long seam or two. But to do that, I would have to buy a lot of yards at a time, and that rarely happens unless I expect it to be backing. (Right now my largest single piece is about 6 yards, I think. Down from there might be one with about 4, and after that they are bits and pieces, less than 2 yards and most a lot smaller.) So yes, I piece backs of a number of things that are otherwise hard to use. Sometimes I purchased them with a particular project in mind (maybe the same, or maybe not) and they didn’t get used. Sometimes I was under some enchantment and bought them, only to break the spell later! AND I’ve created a few two-sided quilts by making the backs as interesting as the fronts. But I don’t do that often.

    Love the snakes. You need a tall person again!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Looking at your quilt backs is a lovely opportunity to see your amazing quilting. The snake quilt will no doubt give you a great surface too quilt – all those segments and curves! I sometimes use just one fabric for backing but more often I do a bit of piecing to use up the left over fabric from the quilt top. The prints are usually busy to hide my less than perfect quilt stitches 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Since this quilt is likely to be used as a person cover rather than a wall cover, an interesting back would enhance it. I think you’ve got the creativity to come up with an intriguing one from bits and pieces, though I understand the draw of flannel fabric.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I use larger pieces of fabric for most of the backing, then piece parts to make it into the correct size. I think, given the examples above, that your solution will be gorgeous. I do like the top, too. I’m wondering how effective quilting on flannel is, given it’s tighter weave? Looking forward to seeing your photos.

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts!

