More Work in Progress

This could almost have been a finish, had I realized I would need rattail or the equivalent for the binding.  Maybe Friday.

Stupendous Stitching is absolutely addicting and as a bonus, quite quick (though part of that is probably due to the size of the piece).  I love how the piece changes at each stage of the process.  I started with simple couching:

Stupendus couching

Adding decorative stitching and hand embroidery completely transformed it.  I wish I had taken a picture before added the hand stitching, but I was too excited by the process to think of photography.  I absolutely loved the embroidery!  Who knew?

Stupendous Stitching 1

Finally I added stitching between the rows of decorative stitching.  I chose to use brighter threads.  I wanted to brighten up some areas of the quilt and make some of the decorative stitching more visible, so I used a bright yellow and a bright turquoise thread (after trying a gorgeous green that largely blended in, unfortunately).  I want to try a piece with stitching that blends into background so that it only adds texture and see what I think of that.  I wonder if I would have liked that effect better.

final stupdendous 1

Some years ago when I was traveling regularly to Thailand, I picked up a bunch of all-cotton threads that I intended to use for quilting.  They were a disaster.  They were too thick and extremely linty, so I hid them in the back of a cupboard thinking I could use them for repairs or sewing on buttons or something. They turned out to be perfect for the hand embroidery.  In some cases, I took two different color threads and double-threaded the needle, giving a little bit of variation to the stitches.  Now I wish I had more of that thread!

My favorite hand stitching, though, was the where I used a slightly thicker variegated quilting thread that I picked in Japan. I don’t see a weight on the bobbin, but I am guessing it might be 30 or 40 wt?  I love the impact of the variegation in this design.

Variegated thread

Right now, my piece is trimmed and the edges are stabilized.  I just need to get some rattail or similar cording for the edges.  And while I am at it, I think I will pick up a bunch of couching material, and some new threads.  I see more stupendous stitching in my future.

Sharing this at Let’s Bee Social when it opens, and to Free Motion by the River.

11 Comments

Add yours →

  1. A very interesting piece. I always get a little thrill when we are able to use something in our stash that’s been there for a long time just waiting for the right moment!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That is thrilling to see all the detail and variety you added. I love it! It’s sort of like crazy quilting only modern and not at all cluttered.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh this is so bright and beautiful! What a fun piece! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You are inspiring me to think thread variety and hand stitching. Oh that long to-do list!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. So many pretty stitches.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. This is a really interesting piece! I love the boldness of your hand embroidery in comparison to some of the more floaty and delicate machine stiching. It’s a bit of a juxtaposition! 🙂 If I had the capacity I would totally be all over this and hand embroidering all over the place! 🙂 Hannah

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts!

