Work in Progress Thursday

Work has been busy, so I haven’t been able to post as much as I would like, but there is some progress on the quilting front.  I have discovered, or perhaps confirmed would be the better word, that I am really a one-project-at-a-time kind of person.  As much as I would like to begin working on a Stupendous Stitching gift for my brother and his wife, I need to get this scrap quilt at least to the quilting stage (I a perfectly happy to leave things quilted but unbound for extended periods of time).  So here is what I have ended up with:

Lightning scraps

It is a bit smaller than my usual quilt, but it will still make a decent size throw.  And if you take a look at this photo (which also shows the colors better), you can see that I have used the strip top as backing. I think I am actually quite pleased with it now.

front and back

I still have some scraps (which you can see in the header) and a few pieces of ‘new fabric’ from the backing and a few blocks that were in progress, but those fabrics that I couldn’t connect to are gone, or I have small scraps that I can now appreciate.  All in all, not bad, scrap quilt experience, despite my ambivalence about the (now) backing.  Fingers crossed that I like it even more with quilting!

I’m linking up to Let’s Bee Social and Scraptastic Tuesday.  I’m sure there is a lot going on on both those linkups!

 

5 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Great solution! Quilting always improves my feelings about a project.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. An excellent solution to the unresolved scrappiness – put it on the back. I really think you’ll be much happier with the controlled half square scrap piecing.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I really like these controlled color scrap quilts. Gorgeous combination of colors and sides. Congratulations.

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts!

