This week has been unexpectedly busy with social events as well as work events, all of which have been great. In the time I did have, I have been able to really move forward quilting my scrap quilt.  I’ve chosen two different overall designs for the light portions of the quilt, and I am thinking of leaving the dark stripes unquilted except for the edges where I have put multiple lines of stitches.  The pictures don’t capture it, but it has really nice contrast between the quilted areas and the unquilted sections.

Because I am using quite easy overall designs, the quilting has gone really quickly.  In fact if I did not have a busy weekend ahead, I would probably be able to finish it in one more day, or maximum two.  The only frustration has been the thread.  I started with a darker yellow thread that showed on the back and a brighter yellow on the front, but I just could not get the stitches right on the back.  Eventually, I switched to a light yellow Aurifil thread, and the stitches are now good front and back, but the thread color is lighter than I would like it.  It reads as white rather than yellow, and largely disappears on the back (which is so busy, almost everything would disappear anyway!).

My next post should be a travel post. After months of staying at home, I am heading off on a short trip.  Let’s see if you can guess the location once I post a picture or two.

Linking this up to Confessions of a Fabric Addict and Free Motion Mavericks.

6 Comments

Add yours →

  1. “Unexpectedly busy”–seems to happen every time I need to finish a project! Enjoy your travels.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful quilting. I think picking thread colors is one of the big challenges of quilting. I dither over slight variations, and then in the end the thread looks either “light” or “dark” against the fabrics when I am using prints. I think yours looks wonderful, though.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Choosing thread colours can be a real headache – you have made a great choice! Also, keeping your concentration when quilting a design over busy prints can be really tricky sometimes, but you have really risen to the challenge. I am looking forward to seeing the finished quilt.
    Thank you for linking up with Free Motion Mavericks!
    Love, Muv

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts!

