What to Do?

sample

 

I received this fabric as a gift, and I am wondering what to do with it.  It is a sample fabric for a kimono, 100% silk, and it has the back is ‘raw’ stitching that would need to be stabilized.  I am thinking I could use it as the center of a wall hanging and do some quilting that extended the swirls or flowers from the fabric design into the border.  I am worried that a plain cotton border would not look good with the shine of the silver and silk.  Part of me would like to cut it up into smaller pieces so the wall hanging might consist of 2 or 3 pieces of the kimono floating on a neutral background.  Alternatively I could stabilize it and make it the center of a medallion quilt with a variety of borders. I am wondering if the contract between colorful geometric borders (I am thinking of pinks, purples and yellows) might make for a very interesting contract with the elegance and delicacy of the silk…Or it might be a terrible disaster! I feel this piece of fabric may be well beyond my abilities…

Any ideas, opinions or suggestions?  I would love to hear them!

12 Comments

Add yours →

  1. So beautiful! How large is it? I’ve never worked with silk so I’m not the right person to advise how to manage it. I’ll look forward to seeing what you decide.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ll be listening to what you learn. I have some used kimono silk that is waiting for inspiration. I did make two very small wall hangings with textured cotton, corduroy and velvet. I didn’t stabilize the silk. Maybe I should consider that.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love the curved lines in your gift fabric. Yes, silk is slippery and wiggles a lot. You can back it with fusible interfacing made for knits or any other interfacing with a bit of give. It could look lovely combined with other silks or with a cotton/silk fabric called Radiance that comes in several luscious colors. Have you considered using it in some clothing – a vest or tunic?

    Liked by 2 people

    • Those curves lines are a fairly common motif in kimonos, and I love it as well. Often the fabric designs change over the lines, something I think gives traditional Japanese fabrics and sashiko incredible richness. I haven’t considered making clothing with the fabric. It seems rather intimidating!

      Like

  4. So pretty. I would make it the focal point for sure.

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts!

